Some randumb drum-recording notes

The idear with using 2 mic’s on one thing – other than stereo – is to use one for the main sound, the other to augment.  For example, on the kick I’d get the best kick sound I can with my main kick mic (in my case a E604 with the capsule in the hole, pointed slightly above the beater.  Then I’d use the fecund mic to augment; that might be a condensor out front for more thump, or a dynamic mebbe pointed at the beater.  On snare I’d get the main sound (I’m mostly using 57’s altho’ trying other small dynamics, I have a Beta 58 on the way) and then augment either with a mic on the snares, or a body mic pointed at the side of the drum.  One cool trick is to use a omni dynamic around mid-shin to get both the beater and the snares …

One discussion I have with my band’s drummer is that he likes the ride mic’d.  Now, that is cool, except it only makes sense if there’s a ride part.  Same for the floor tom, what I usually mic, but often for no reason.  I also like to use my OH’s for the rack toms; I like a roomy drum sound, not a dead ’70’s pan-it-all-across-toms-roll thing.  But I do like to emphasize the floor tom when the song (as many of ours do) uses it extensively.

Finally, I feel a room mic is essential.  Now, how I use it changes dependent on many factors; sometimes it’s smashed, sometimes it’s pass filtered to hell so only the snare comes thru or just the top (seldom do you want a lot of kick in yer room mic), I often do the Albini trick and add corrective delay, say.012ms to get a bigger room sound.  It kills for snare, sometimes.

And I often use two room mics, EQ’d and compressed to emphasize different parts of the kit and barely panned, or EQ’d and compressed and gain-adjusted to serve as distant OH’s.  I find, using them as distant OH’s, that the tracks need not be identical mic’s as panning and EQ can serve to allow the tracks to give nice, not necessarily symmetrical, depth.

Leave a Reply

