Some notes on “mono”

From a TOMB thread:

FWIW, I started to look for a mono summing box when I realized that I can use a monoizer plug on the output buss of my DAW.

While my DAW makes it difficult to have other buss FX (vs. inserts) with the monoizer on, it works great into my pair of 5C’s.

It is an interesting and useful variation to use the monitor amp’s balance/pan control to check mixes in mono on the left speaker, then the right, then both, as well as use them in stereo.

And I find the mono monitoring so useful and use it so often (every mix), I accept the limitation in my DAW (CEP 2.1) of not using buss effects and instead limit myself to inserts to keep the mono convenient.
_________________
vlaymanTHDblogTFP

Leave a Reply

