Z Vex Box o’ Rocks

Now, J. Mascis used to call this his fave dirt and I can see why. It is NOT over the top, closer to the SHO then the Mammoth, but damn do it sound good. And why Mascis “used to”? Because he had ’em build a Double Box to stack ’em what is pretty cool but not for me, but then I ain’t J.

5/5 olives

Z Vex Distortron

Marshall-inna-box is the cliche, but true. The triple sub thing is what sets it apart and makes it invaluable on bass. But, run a boost pedal into it with guitar and say goodbye to yer lease.  I mean, even in front of a 15w. amp, you’ll be killin’ skeeters and have the cops visit.

5/5 olives.

Z Vex Super Duper 2 in 1

This is a secret pedal of mine for bass. I use it into my Ampeg BA 108 (ver. 1) and get all kindsa inspired and sometimes can’t stop playin’.

But, it’s a secret, y’all, so don’t tell no one. (Pretty good on guitar, also, altho’ I have other preferences …)

5/5 olives

Hofner Fuzz


OK, I got mine, so lemme say some pedal-maker guy at Reverb mentioned how flexible was the Hofner Fuzz pedal. Now, it’s made in China, it’s kinda a plainish military grey rectangle box, and it can be noisy, but damn if he wasn’t correct. I’m a distortion-pedal kinda guy, and boosts and fuzz and such gimme wood. This one (US$35 or so) is as much fun as my recently acquired Z Vex’s. I mean, it’s not anywhere built as nice nor looks as nice, but it sure sounds good – it’s fun! And if ya ain’t believe me, you might be one of my neighbors … Twisted Evil

4/5 olives, cuz it’s built mebbe cheap in China, and it’s a touch noisy …