A simple descript of the song-writing & recording process

In answer to a question at LO, I posted:

To compare and contrast, I always start with the drums, hopefully ones I recorded (I have about 20 songs in progress that way), and more often than not lately I end up heavily editing same, adjusting sections that I then arrange.

Next – and it makes quite a difference in the result –  I write the song on bass or guitar.

Next – and it makes quite a difference in the result – I do the vocals and the whatever is not done between the bass or rhythm guitar, or the opposite.

When I do the lead vocal, I typically do the 90% of the BV’s. The lyrics may (10%) or not be already existent, so I write ’em if necessary about here. Same with the vocal melody.

Next is additional guitars, if any. Lately, I’ve been trying to get more than rhythm, some kinda melodic or harmony feature or counter-point thing here, also.

Next is keys, if any.

Next is whatever the “lead” is, usually guitar.

Then I do the sweetening.

I mix all along, altho’ I try to leave FX until the end.

Interestingly, I have found that I love to mix drums without gates, but drummers seem to prefer them; I like the livlier feel, me.

EQ is used as needed, but typically not until the final mix, pans are done as I go, same with edits and initial volume-rides, altho’ Granx can tell you I am very fond of “faders-up” until gain-rides are necessary for mix emphasis.

4:00 PM, “The Truth of It”

Too early to drink, too late for coffee.

So I’m havin’ green tea.

Neighbor’s runnin’ the mower, and I gotta sing, see, but I gotta wait until he’s done.

I could play guitar or sompin’, but I want the vox to steer the choon.

So, tea.

Drums by Vezina is done (recorded to 8-track in Feb, mixed and edited today, or’ginally titled, “Stonesy”.)

Bass is done – it’s how I wrote the m-m-music.

Lyrics is done.

So, tea, and then a spot of singing.

More on the Ebog

OK, more:


New message from: luckylenny-0 (16Yellow Star)
I’m attacking you?? Where? what? I’m attacking you?


New message from: luckylenny-0 (16Yellow Star)

New message to: luckylenny-0
You have a bad and snarky attitude, and my money.
You’ll be a good guy when I get it back.
In the meantime ..
bandcamp; vlayman;
THD; blog.
I mix with olive juice.

MEV’s Overdrive Shootout

Don’t know how useful this is, but I recorded some overdrives all with the same amp and guitar and mic and pre settings/positions, all of the overdrive pedals controls set at 12:00.

Here’s the key:

Overdrive Shootout

0. No pedal
1. Toadworks Meat, Jr. [fat switch]
2. EHX Soul Food
3. EHX Hot Tubes [tone]
4. EHX The Glove [shift]
5. Rocktron Austin Gold
6. DOD 250 (vintage)
7. Barber Direct Drive
8.  MXR Distortion + (vintage)
9. Toadworks Meat
10. Visual Sound Rt 66 [bass]

AmStandard Tele, neck pup, 10 & 10
Pro,Jr.: Vol. 4, Tone 6
E609 ISA 1 30db Imp.: ISA110
All pedals 12:00
If second part, then [ ] engaged
It’s 11.3 megs download of mono FLAC files.

It’s 11.3 megs download of mono FLAC files, here.

The other two are on my pedal board.

bandcamp; vlayman;
THD; blog.
I mix with olive juice.

MVx2: *(first)*

1. The Worker Bee 03:20k
2. Casket For My Friend 04:33
3. There Are Them w Grankspoine 03:45
4. All the Drugs 03:29
5. The Void (The Call of) 03:42
6. Hate You (That Don’t Mean That I) 04:11
7. Freeze 04:34
8. Have a Nice Day 03:08
9. Nickle (My Lucky) 03:51
10. Our Streets 03:21
11. Noisy Gidget 02:26

Seasoned musicians, Emvezina and Vlayman are located in the Chi-town area, making noise for themselves and the neighbors and now, you.

released July 28, 2016

Emvezina: tubs and clankers;
Vlayman: all the other shite; except,
Grankspoine: keys, horns & guitars on #3
bandcamp; vlayman;
THD; blog.
I mix with olive juice.

Easy amp tweaks & mods

OK, what have you done – easy-like – to tweak and/or mod yer recording amps?

My fave thing is putting a 12AU7 at V1 in my Tiny Terror. No more fizz, a touch less volume, much less gain. And when I need more more, I slam it with pedals.

12AT7 in the Pro, Jr., same-same.

I also like Weber speakers (in my M8E), and those silicon anti-vibrate tube rings, velcro straps on the channel/reverb switch pedals and power cords, and the occasional switchable small cooling fans in the big amps, white-out pens to mark settings and knobs.

Powersoak on the HD130 lets me get powertube grind when playing bass.

Finally, sheer window curtains make nice dust-covers for amps in the bedio.
bandcamp; vlayman;
THD; blog.
I mix with olive juice

GNR in Chi, ’89

Anyone knows me heard my stories about meeting Slash at the Batman movie, and Metro, and the girl I was with, etc.  Here’s a article about that summer of ’89.:

Guns N’ Roses In Chicago: Their Wild, Drunken, Lost Summer on Clark Street



Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 91 other followers