Re pedals and shite

Some of us was talkin’ ’bout pedals, and giving history and description, comparison, and mods, and description of the mods, and price, and it occurred to me: “Ah, I have a question and comment.”

I don’t think of effects that way at all, I don’t deep-dive, I mebbe take advice but I usually dick with it a few times and find a setting I like and stick with it, go on to the next pedal. Some pedals I set for bass and guitar, or rhythm and lead, and I mark ’em with colored paper dot-stickers, ex., blue for bass, yellow for rhythm guitar – I usually stop with no more than 3 settings per pedal;

For context I have a martini in hand and am listening to a 1983 bootleg of Dream Syndicate songs recorded live that year (June-Sept; *.mp3, some 320), filling inna then current set-list. Pretty ruff performance, good sound, but/and it rocks.