Current mix practice

Commenting at the LO forum:

FWIW, YMMV, etc., for guitar rock how I currently start is always with the drums.

As printed I adjust my individual tracks to be peaking at -3dB. with all pass-filtering done.

Then, I’ll start with the drum sub-mix set around -7 to -9dB avg., but can end up anywhere between -3 and -12.

Next, I start with two tracks of bass (appropriately compressed/limited), each at -18dB – one track would be -15dB.

Next, I start with just one guitar about -14dB, two at -16 or -17, multiples at -18 or -20 – lots of variables here.

Finally (but really, not necessarily in the above order, which is meant to be a loose example), I start with the lead vocal between -12 and -14.

So, I try and get a balance of those, then add keys, percussion, BV’s etc.

BV’s often end up (sub-mix) about 2dB lower than the lead vocal – after all are appropriately compressed/limited.

Another way to approach is that the snare and the lead voc should be about even or the vocal a little higher, the guitars and bass (in the aggregate) should be about even and slightly below the vocal (lead should be same level or 1-2dB higher than vocal) …

When I get all that, I usually bring the drums down another 2-6dB – starting the drums too high works for me to hear everything else better in relationship to each other; bringing the drums down to match against the bass, I then set the guitars, the vocals, last the lead guitar (which often benefits being higher than you might initially predict). After that comes the keys and candy (if any).

Modify message

Report to moderator   67.175.95.111 (?)

carpal diem!

THD
vlayman
blog
vlayman.bandcamp.co m
thehungrydrunx.band camp.com

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.