About bein’ a bassist who “sings”

I said at talkbass:

As a guitar-player who was a creative writing major, I hadda start singing to get my lyrics used.

As a home-recordist, and then BL, I hadda learn and then improve on bass.

Guitar and voc can be much easier because you can play the rhythm or lead around the voc; think BB King for an extreme example. Of course, doing other kinds of music is not so easy, but you can artfully underplay and drop out, especially if you have a second guitarist or keys, etc.

Doing bass and vocal is often harder if the voc strays off the bass line. I sometimes hafta simplify bass lines to sing over ’em, but you can much more seldom just stop playing. One seldom has a second bassist, after all.Vlayman

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.